Our Foundation

The authentic World War 2 propeller (type Hamilton standard) which will be used for the new monument with the Committee-members from left to right:

  • Benny Schreurs, founder and president
  • The late Egbert Holterman, founder 
  • Henriette Kok-Klumpers, secretary
  • Erik Nijenhuis, member and treasurer
  • Gert Jan Oplaat, member

Contact address: Benny Schreurs, Traasweg 8, 7475 PS MARKELO
Phone: 0031547363080 or handy 0031651063176
Email: info@memorialmarkelo.nl
Bank: Rabobank West Twente, Postbus 26, 7440 AAA NIJVERDAL

Targets of our Foundation:

  1. To establish and to unveil a new monument near 17 CWGC-airmen Wargraves at the General Cemetery of Markelo at June 21, 2013.
  2. To organise a memorial in June 2013 to commemmorate the 17 fallen airmen, who died in Markelo in 1943 in 3 bombercrashes.
  3. For that to invite the relatives of all 21 airmen involved with the 3 bombercrashes and to host them to local hostfamilies.
  4. To stimulate the continue involvement of the pupils of class 8 of all primary schools of Markelo, as adopters of the wargraves, to make them aware that our freedom is not obvious and is not achieved without many sacrifices.
  5. To organise eventually a memorial every five years.
  6. The foundation is not intended to achieve a profit.



Commission of Recommendation:

Our project has a Commission of Recommendation with the following members:
H.E. Mr. George Troup, Ambassador of New Zealand in The Netherlands
H.E. Mr. Paul Arkwright, Ambassador of Great Britain in The Netherlands
H.E. Mr. Neil Mules, Ambassador of Australia in The Netherlands
Mr. J.H.A. Goudt, deputy Mayor of the Municipality Hof van Twente
Mr. Ian Hussein, director CWGC Nothern Europe Area
G. Flieringa, CEO of the Dutch Wargraves Foundation
Mr. J. Blom, president of Foundation Overijssels Resistance Monument
Sgt. Glen Turner, secretary New Zealand 75 Squadron Association
Mr. J. Graas, president of Foundation Aircraft Recovery Group 40-45
Mr. R. van ’t Oost, deserving member of Keep Them Rolling (KTR).    
Mr. B. Maathuis, board member of Study Group Air War 1940-1945 (SGLO)